Project Team

Project Leadership

Co-Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics

Co-Principal Investigator

Associate Professor, Department of Sociology

Co-Principal Investigator

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine

Clinician-Investigator, Hennepin Healthcare


Executive Director

Robina Institute of Criminal Law and Criminal Justice


Assistant Professor, Division of Health Policy and Management

School of Public Health

Past & Present Research Team and Staff

Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute

University of Minnesota

De Andre’ T. Beadle, Ph.D. Student, Sociology

J'Mag Karbeah, Ph.D. Candidate, Public Health

Ingie Osman, M.P.H. Student, Public Health

Victoria Piehowski, Ph.D. Candidate, Sociology

Amber Joy Powell, Ph.D. Candidate, Sociology

Christopher Robertson, Ph.D. Student, Sociology

Alyssa Scott, M.P.H. Student, Public Health

University of Minnesota Law Students: Jacob Gray, Olivia Levinson, Robin Tu

University of Minnesota Undergraduate Research Assistants: Noura Abukhadra, Faith Adewunmi, Olufemi Akindumila, Ella Buboltz, Lauren Cattapan, Rodrigo Tojo Garcia, Hannah Hagen, Cianna Holthaus, Sara McClendon, James Rashid, Lizeth Diaz Rodriguez, Kate Rosenow, Jeremy Schlitz, Elizabeth Shaver, Anna Stalsberg

Robina Institute

Lily Hanrath, Researcher

Erin Harbinson, PhD, Researcher

Christine Boisjoli, Communications and Program Coordinator

Hennepin County

Researchers: Sailee Tambe (MPH), Cody Tuttle (MPP), Jonathan Watkins (M.S.)

County Partners and Advisors

Stephanie Abel​, Manager, Integrated Care, Hennepin County Human Services and Public Health

Julie Bauch, MS, RN, PHN, Opioid Response Coordinator, Hennepin County

Peter Bodurtha, Data Scientist, Hennepin Healthcare Research Institute

Danette Buskovick, MSW, ​Senior Admin Manager, Strategy and Business Supports, Operations and Innovation Services, Department of Community Corrections and Rehabilitation

Erik Erickson, PhD, ​Analytics Manager for Integrated Planning and Analysis, Hennepin County Human Services and Public Health Department

Courtney Hougham, Principal Planning Analyst, Hennepin County

Alistair Nairn, Senior Probation Officer, Hennepin County

Research, Policy, and Community Advisory Board

Kathie Doty​, Hennepin-University Partnership, University of Minnesota

Mónica Hurtado, Racial Justice and Health Equity Organizer, Voices for Racial Justice

Kevin Reitz, JD, Board of Directors, Robina Institute, James Annenberg La Vea Land Grant Chair in Criminal Procedure Law, University of Minnesota Law School

Aaron Sojourner, PhD, Associate Professor, Carlson School of Management

Christopher Uggen, PhD, ​Regents Professor, University of Minnesota

Formerly Justice-Involved Advisory Board

Lisa Pederson, Advocate for Justice-Involved Persons

Terencio D. Safford, Chairman, Legislative Affairs Committee, MN Second Chance Coalition

Back Row-from L to R: Rachel Hardeman, Kelly Mitchell, Michelle Phelps, Latasha Jennings, Victoria Piehowski, Aaron Sojourner

Front Row-from L to R: Rebecca Shlafer, Tyler Winkelman, De Andre' Beadle